Wheat products are found in many foods. In order to avoid foods that contain wheat, it is important to read food labels:
- Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients: bread crumbs, bran, cereal extract, couscous, crackers, enriched flour, flour, gluten, unsifted wheat flour, flour with a high gluten content, flour high in protein, spelt, vital wheat gluten, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat malt, wheat starch, whole wheat flour.
- Other ingredients may also indicate the presence of wheat protein: gelatinized starch, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, Kamut (Khorasan wheat), modified food starch, modified starch, natural seasonings, soy sauce, vegetable starch, chewing gums.
To successfully follow a wheat-free diet you should consider the following list of foods that are not allowed:
- Beverages or drinks: cereal beverages, coffee substitutes, beverages made from wheat products: beer, ale, beer without alcohol. Powders used in instant chocolate drinks.
- Breads and cereals: white or brown bread, breadcrumbs, rolls. Donuts, sweet rolls, muffins, French toast, rusk, biscuits. Pre-made sponge cake mixes, breads and rolls. Cornbread, potato bread and soy bread unless made without wheat flour or products. Cereals made from flour, wheat, or those that have been added wheat products or malt. Sponge cakes, crackers and pretzels. Semolina, couscous.
- Desserts: cakes, pastries, commercial meringues, ice cream, sorbet, waffles. Cookies, prepared powders or packaged pudding containing wheat flour. Whole wheat biscuits, donuts.
- Eggs: Not allowed: soufflés or creamed eggs made with wheat products.
- Fats: Any salad dressing or gravy thickened with wheat flour or wheat products.
- Fruit: Fruit crushed with cereals.
- Meat, fish and poultry: meat in pies or covered with flour containing a filler such as meatloaf, frankfurters, sausages or ready made meat burgers.
- Milk and milk products: malted milk, milk drink containing powdered wheat cereal or wheat products. Cottage cheese with modified starch or other ingredients containing wheat.
- Potatoes and pasta: potatoes cooked in the oven with breadcrumbs. Noodles, spaghetti, macaroni and other pasta products prepared with wheat or semolina flour. Couscous.
- Soup: cream soups, unless they are made without wheat flour. Soups with noodles or letters. Soup thickened with wheat flour.
- Sweets: chocolate candies containing malt, candies with cereal extract.
- Vegetables: vegetables combined with wheat products. Breaded or floured vegetables.
- Miscellaneous: malt products, Worcestershire sauce, sauces thickened with wheat flour. Monosodium glutamate (MSG), meat tenderizers containing MSG, prepared oriental food seasoned with MSG, soy sauce.